Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List!
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


A QUEEN OF INFINITE SPACE

2005-09-04 - 6:56 p.m.

Adventures in Academia: Day 1

PARTY HARD

I'm sure the people who know me well suspected all along that I would flourish academically at college. Several of them, I know, held out secret hopes that I would come into my own socially as well.

But me living in the party dorm? I doubt anyone expected that.

Luckily for me, it's the kind of partying that revolves around enjoying each other's company rather than alcohol. (Although that ugly drink has already manifested itself spectacularily...last night two girls drank themselves into unconsciousness and had to be wheeled out in ambulances.) Our brand of partying is far more benign.

At Knox, dorms are organized into "Suites" with a large communal living room. My suite is co-ed by room...a campus rarity. I lucked into the most musical suite on campus...a bass guitarist, an electric guitarist, and two drummers. We're thinking of forming a suite band and calling it "Awkward" (inside joke). At first, they were dubious about my claim to be a decent singer, but after placing second in the karaoke contest despite singing a song that was at the very bottom of my range (I could've sworn it was higher) and being confronted by unexpected flashing lights, they believe. (And I won a JumpDrive!)

Today, we played cards in my dorm. Tonight, we're watching "Dogma" in my dorm. Tomorrow, we're planning on building a box fort from all the cardboard boxes people dumped in the stairwell after moving in. Life is looking good.

Who'da thunk it?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!